top of page
  • Writer's pictureLyle Slovick

Bob Jones and Charlie Sifford


I found a few things after I submitted the final manuscript that I wished I could have put in the book. For example, a letter from Richard Slepin to Robert Tyre Jones, Jr., c.1970 from the Bob Jones Papers at the USGA:

“Bob, I have definite purpose in writing this letter; to me there will be no (financial) gain. To the person of whom I will write it could mean the consummation of a long and hard career. This man has had his lean years. This man is a hard worker and like yourself looks only to himself for his success in golf. His name is Charlie Sifford. I need not tell you that he is the winner of two major championships, the Hartford Classic and the Los Angeles Open. Mr. Sifford does not know that this letter is being written and if he did I am certain would ask that it not be mailed. But I forge ahead where others fear to tread. I wish that you would exert every influence which you possess to favor him with an invitation to the 1970 Augusta Masters. This man is a gentleman, a credit to golf, a credit to his race, and a credit to this age. I know him personally and speak of these things first hand.”

Mr. Slepin mentioned Ben Hogan getting a special exemption to play in the 1967 US Open, so a precedent of sorts had been set. If Mr. Jones ever responded to the letter is unknown, as no answer is provided.

26 views0 comments
bottom of page