top of page
  • Writer's pictureLyle Slovick

Thomas McAuliffe and the power to overcome adversity


Thomas McAuliffe lost both his arms in a horrible accident when he was nine years old, but he learned to play golf. In 1915, the 22-year-old told his story to Golf Monthly. By gripping the club between his cheek and shoulder, and with a “combined swing and jerk of the body and shoulder,” he was able to hit the ball 100 to 120 yards with a driver. McAuliffe was certainly a positive thinker. “I never permit the thought of my accident to take possession of my mind,” he declared, “nor do I think of anything being impossible for me to overcome. When the time comes, I just go ahead as best I may, and somehow, someway, I generally get there without any great difficulties.” Somehow, someway, I generally get there without any great difficulties—this understatement of courageous determination and resolve demonstrates the power of the human spirit in overcoming seemingly impossible odds.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Courage of Ken Green

Ken Green has faced great challenges in his life but has survived. "People who got to know Green - even fellow players were wary about doing that - invariably liked him. During the 1990s and beyond, s

bottom of page