top of page
  • Writer's pictureLyle Slovick

Getting Tom Watson's endorsement for my book


As Paul Harvey used to say, here’s the “rest of the story” of getting Tom Watson to write a blurb for my book. I contacted him at the end of 2014 and heard back from his management company at the end of January 2015. His representative told me Mr. Watson would review the proposal for the book and let me know if he would consider writing an endorsement for it in the event I found a publisher. Time passed and in April I heard back – sorry, but Tom has decided to pass on the book. No further explanation given. OK. I was disappointed, but that’s life.

Fast forward to the British Open in July. I had gone over to see Watson in his last go at the Old Course at St Andrews, and was taking a walk around the course on a beautiful sun-filled Saturday. I arrived at the 10th hole and noticed two guys playing. I had seen Adam Scott playing a practice round the day before so I figured it was a couple guys getting a jump on the competition. The one guy had an old fashioned type swing with a lot of leg drive and as I got closer, I said to myself, “Shit, that’s Tom Watson.”

This was before the tournament proper began, so there were no ropes, no marshals, just about a dozen people following Tom around with Brandt Snedeker, a very good player who admires Watson as one of his golf heroes. Another player was in the group, but I focused on Tommy. I was a little upset that I found them on the 10th hole, but then again I might have missed him entirely. It was pure luck, and I felt lucky. Immediately, I was assessing my chances of approaching Watson. People were getting his autograph but were respectful and letting him play.

I took some photos and video, then figured I’d sidle up to Tom on the fairway while nobody else was engaging him, and introduce myself. I had previously sent him a copy of a letter his father had written to the USGA in 1987, where I was (and am) doing consultant work. It was his dad’s own recollections of playing in the 1950 and 1954 U.S. Amateurs. Tom’s people had told me reading the letter had brought a smile to his face, but then added he would pass on endorsing the book. So, as I tried to compose an introduction in my head, I saw my opportunity and walked up to him as we walked down the fairway, and extended my hand. “Mr. Watson, my name is Lyle Slovick.” He shook my hand and immediately said, “I haven’t had a chance to read your book yet,” which made it clear he knew who I was.

But it was also a bit confusing since I had been told he wasn’t going to consider endorsing it. So I said something like, “That’s OK, I’m sure you’ve been busy with more important things,” and I told him I found a few more newsclips about his dad playing in golf tournaments in Kansas City, and he asked what work I was doing at the USGA. It was a pleasant exchange as we walked the couple hundred yards to his ball, and although I was choking my guts out just trying to breathe, I was able to piece together a few coherent sentences and as he got ready to hit his next shot I said, “I didn’t mean to chew your ear off,” to which he replied, “No, not at all.” I told him I had found a publisher for my book and he said, “Good.” The offer had come just 4 days before.

I was glad I made my move when I had, as the gallery grew when word spread that Tom was out there. But the time he finished there were probably 50-75 people watching his every move. On 18, as shadows grew across the fairway, I again was able to walk up the fairway and thank Tom for being so gracious and approachable to all of us. The sun was bright, the blue sky almost cloudless, and I felt warm in the cool breeze. I held on to that warm moment, realizing it was going to slip away in a matter of seconds. I told Tom he had been my “man” since I was 14, to which he chuckled, the comment obviously tickled him. “Have a good week and enjoy it,” I said as I walked away. “Thank you, Lyle,” he answered with a smile. At least he remembered my name, I thought.

I left him to finish the hole and sign autographs afterward by the green, while I talked for several minutes with his son Michael, who caddied for him that week. He was very pleasant and friendly as well, as two or three of us discussed his dad’s chances that week and shared memories. Michael was genuinely excited to be there and so was his dad. That was a fun day, for sure. Very special for me.

So the end of this long story. I returned to New Jersey a couple weeks later, and sent the book proposal one more time to Watson’s management team, explaining that we had a short conversation at the Open. I asked if Tom might reconsider reading the chapter I did on his late caddy Bruce Edwards, and told them I’d leave him in peace. To my great shock and delight, a couple weeks later I received an email saying Tom had read the chapter on Bruce, that my writing was “spot on,” and that he would write a blurb for the book. My first endorsement, and a gratifying one to receive. With that, I was able to approach other well-known people in golf and tell them I already had Mr. Watson in my corner. I think it must have helped me gather steam to get many other great reviews. Thank you Tom!

8 views0 comments
bottom of page