top of page
  • Writer's pictureLyle Slovick

Charlie Sifford on the Hall of Fame


This is a little late for Black History Month, but Charlie Sifford was voted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2004. At his induction, he spoke about getting a phone call from PGA Tour Commisioner Tim Finchem. "I thought, 'What have I done now?'" "He said, 'Charlie, we're going to put you in the Hall of Fame. You got a lot of followers. We going to put you in the Hall of Fame.' I swear I didn't believe it. But the five months I had to wait to get here were the toughest five months out of the whole 50 some years. I couldn't drive my car fast. I had to cut my speed down. I would go across the street, I'd walk slow, I'd look around." The audience laughed. "Boy, I want to be damn sure I'd be here tonight."


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page