top of page
  • Writer's pictureLyle Slovick

Henry Picard recalls Bob Jones


Henry Picard, a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame, won the 1938 Masters. In 1990 he was interviewed as part of the USGA Oral History program, and recalled playing with Jones over the years. "And I played with Jones enough times to know, I’ve never seen anyone in my life play shots he could play. He would play a golf shot, I didn’t believe it could be done. And I don’t believe I would say it out loud today, because most people would call you a liar. But I saw it with my own eyes.” Picard asked Jones “a million questions” as he described it. He once asked Jones what makes people great? "He said, ‘Desire’s number one.’ And he said the good Lord...gave me a little mite better body than he gave you.’”

5 views0 comments
bottom of page